• Admin

Women in law shine at Woza awards

Several women from across the country made their way to The Hilton Hotel in Sandton, Gauteng on Saturday 3 August for the annual Woza Women in Law Awards.

The inaugural event founded by Rehana Parker aims to create a platform for women in the legal fraternity and showcases the finest legal minds who serve as an inspiration to others in their communities, changing lives and breaking barriers from diverse sectors ranging from the non-profit organisation’s to the corporate sector.

The three top Woza awards were granted to Advocate Kgomotso Moroka SC from Johannesburg Society of Advocates, Commissioner Priscilla Jana, the deputy chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission and Kai-Lie Chen, the director of Kai-Lie Chen Attorneys Incorporate. The three top winners hail from Gauteng.

Award category winners that included first and second runner-ups were also awarded to individuals. Alternative Dispute Resolution Lawyer of the year was awarded to Adv. Yolanda Jacobs from the Practising Advocate Cape Bar Association in Western Cape. First and second runner-ups in this category were Pertunia Thulare, the managing director of Maloka Thulare Attorneys in Limpopo and Nikita Lalla the chief executive at LNP Attorneys Inc in Gauteng.

The Human Rights Activist/ Social Justice Activist / Pro Bono Lawyer Ncumisa Nongogo Award was given to Naledi Motsiri the director of WerksmansAttorneys (ProBono) in Gauteng. Natasha Wagiet, ProBono co-ordinator at ENS Africa in Western Cape and Harshna Munglee, the director of H. Munglee & Assoc in KwaZulu-Natal were runner-ups.

The Leadership and Mentorship Lawyer Yolanda S. Jacobs Collective Award was given to Tasneem Crawley, the director of Knowles Husain & Lindsay Inc in Gauteng. Runner-ups awarded were Janine Kim Myburgh, the managing director at Myburgh Attorneys Inc in WC and Tsakani Malueke-Shilangu, head of office at Legal Aid SA in Limpopo.

The Labour Law Lawyer Award was given to Mpho Mabidi, managing director at MB Mabidi Attorneys in Limpopo and runner-ups awards were given to Faathima Asmall the director of Rooth & Wessels in Pretoria and Natasha Moni, the director of Moni Attorneys in Gauteng.

The Family Law Lawyer Sashi Kateka Award was granted to Karen Botha, the director of Karen Botha Attorneys in KZN, Runner-ups were Nabeela Sheik Omar, the director of Sheik Omar Attorneys Inc. and Tasneem Moosa, the director of Tasneem Moosa Inc, both from Gauteng.

The Mergers and Acquisitions Lawyer Award was given to Angeli Arora, the head of private equity and investment funds at Dentons in WC and the runner-up was Samantha Hogben also from Dentons.

The Thought Leader/ Innovation and Academia Lawyer Rebotile Bopape Award was given to Professor Dee Smythe, the Professor of Public Law at the University of Cape Town (UCT). Runner-ups were Lauren Kohn also from UCT and Dr. Noleen Leach, from the Cape Peninsula University of Technology in Cape Town.

The Corporate Practising Lawyer Werksman Award was given to Tshepo Shabangu from Spoor & Fisher in Gauteng and runner-ups were Angeli Arora from Dentons and Nicolene Schoeman-Louw from Schoeman Louw Inc, both from WC.

The Corporate (Non-practising) Award was given to Wahida Parker, the managing director of Table Mountain Aerial Cableway and The Technology Lawyer Award to Wendy Rosenberg from Werksmans Attorneys in Gauteng. Runner-up winner in this category was Leah Molatseli from Lenoma Legal in Free State.

The Land Rights/ Property/Conveyancing/ Lawyer Stephanie Brown Award was given to Bulelwa Mabasa of Land Reform &Restitution in Gauteng. Runner-ups in this category were Adv. Audrey Gwangwa from Deeds Rural Dev & Land Reform in Gauteng and Najmunessa Bawa from Bawa Abrahams & Associates in WC.

The Woza government category had the Denton Award that was given to Kgosigadi Mothapo also known as Moremadi R Mothapo from Limpopo. The Woza Future Ambassador’s Student Changemaker Award was given to Abongile Nkamisa from Waltor Sisulu University in Eastern Cape. Mihlali Florence Tladi, CEO of Black Lawyers Matter in Gauteng, Deneska Theron from The IIE Varsity College in KZN and Yasmin Mohamed a law student in WC were runner-ups.

The Candidate Attorney Top Achiever Award was given to Sarah Jane Goldman and the Candidate Attorney Change Maker Award to Jessica Schwenn, both from KZN. Law firm awards were given to Carolissen Attorneys Inc in WC, Karen Botha Attorneys in KZN, Pam Mdanjelwa Attorneys in WC, Women’s Legal Centre in WC, Tasneem Moosa Inc and Charmaine Schwenn Inc in KZN, Schoeman Law Inc. in WC, Livingston Leandy Inc in KZN and Knowles Husain Lindsay Inc in Gauteng.

Sourced from: https://deenchannel.com/women-in-law-shine-at-woza-awards/

Women in Law Awards

Recognising the Women who Excel. 

Email: Wozaawards@gmail.com

Phone: +27 733 404 595

Quick Links

Sponsored by

Screenshot 2019-07-26 at 11.34.31.png